No products in the cart.

Cambridge hosts 12th International Roman Law Moot Competition

A team from the Université de Liège has won the Twelfth International Roman Law Moot, defeating the University of Oxford in the Grand Final, held in the Lady Chapel at Ely Cathedral. This is the first time that Liège has secured the Palma Victoriae, and reverses the 2018 result, in which Oxford defeated Liège. This year’s prize consisted of a replica of a Mithraic tauroctony, manufactured in Northumberland in authentic Roman conditions.

In the Small Final, the Universität Wien defeated the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens to win the Palma Tertia (Third Prize), while Nargisse El Houti, a member of the victorious Université de Liège team, was awarded the Palma Optimi Oratoris (Best Oralist Award), with Honourable Mentions to Riccardo Gaeta (Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II) and Katharina Haen (Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen).

The International Roman Law Moot Court Competition is a collaboration between the University of Oxford, the University of Cambridge, the Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II, the Universität Wien, Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen, the Université de Liège, the Universität Trier and the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. The competition is administered by the Mooting Coordinator, Dr Benjamin Spagnolo.

The semi-final moot held at Trinity College is available to view online.  For more information see the International Roman Law Moot website.